No new case of coronavirus was recorded in Lagos State on Monday.

The Lagos State Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, confirmed this in a tweet on Tuesday.

This is coming barely 24 hours after the state reported 70 new COVID-19 cases, highest to be recorded by any state in Nigeria in one day.

Abayomi’s confirmation came a few hours after the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control also announced no new case in Lagos.

Despite not recording any new case of COVID-19 in 24 hours, Lagos, which has the highest confirmed cases of coronavirus in Nigeria, reported deaths.

According to data from the NCDC, Lagos has recorded 376 confirmed COVID-19 cases and discharged 97 patients.

The PUNCH also reports that the state has recorded no fewer than 15 coronavirus-related fatalities.

Apart from Lagos, Akwa Ibom and Borno, other states that have recorded fatalities from COVID-19 are Edo, Katsina, Kano, and Delta, and Abuja.

Abayomi tweeted, “No new case of #COVID-19 was confirmed in Lagos on 20th April, 2020. However, #COVID19 related deaths were recorded in Lagos.

“One of the deceased was a 45 years old Nigerian male who returned from India in January 2020.”

The NCDC on Monday said 38 new cases of COVID-19 were reported in the last 24 hours, bringing the total number of confirmed cases to 665 in Nigeria.

However, Lagos was not part of the states where the new cases were recorded.

According to the centre, three new states – Gombe, Sokoto and Abia – have joined states with reported cases of the virus, as the number of states with confirmed cases now reached 25.

It stated that of the 38 new cases from eight states, 23 were reported in Kano; five in Gombe; three in Kaduna; two in Borno, two also in Abia, while one each was recorded in FCT, Sokoto and Ekiti.

It said, “On the 20th of April 2020, 38 new confirmed cases of COVID-19 were recorded in Nigeria. Till date, 665 cases have been confirmed, 188 cases have been discharged in Nigeria.

“Breakdown of cases by states: Lagos – 376, FCT-89, Kano-59, Osun-20, Oyo-16, Edo-15, Ogun-12, Kwara- nine, Katsina-12, Bauchi- seven, Kaduna- nine, Akwa Ibom- nine, Delta- four, Ekiti- four,

Ondo- three, Enugu- two, Rivers- two, Niger- two, Benue- one, Anambra- one, Borno- three, Jigawa- two, Abia- two, Gombe – five, and Sokoto- one.”