President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Monitoring Committee for the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

His spokesman, Femi Adesina, in a statement Wednesday night, said this was in line with the provisions of Part V1, Section 21 of Niger Delta Development Commission Establishment Act.

Members of the committee are: Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio – Chairman, Minister of State, Omotayo Alasoadura – Member and Olusola Adesola, Permanent Secretary – Member.

Other members are: Shamsuddin Bello – representing the office of the Accountant General of the Federation; Charles Ikeah, representative of the Federal Ministry of Environment; Atanda Kolawole Musiliu – representing the Ministry of Petroleum Resources; Ms Aisha Umar, representing Federal Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning.

Also on the committee are Dr M.K Mohammed – representing Federal Ministry of Works and Housing; Dr Dorothy Nwodo – representing the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development.

Alfred Abah, a Director in the Ministry of Niger Delta Affairs, is the Secretary.

The announcement came one week after Buhari appointed the NDDC Interim Management Committee (IMC).

The President replaced Barrister Joy Nunieh with Prof. Kemebradikumo Pondei, as acting Managing Director.