Success Nwogu  and Chidiebube Okeoma

The All Progressive Grand Alliance has declared vacant  the seats of  its Imo State House of Assembly  lawmakers who  during the week  defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress in the state.

APGA caretaker chairman in the state, John Iwuala, who spoke to our correspondent in Owerri on Friday,  said they would  commence  legal action against the defectors soon.

Iwuala said apart from Ekene Nnodimele, the party would   sue other lawmakers elected on the platform of the party who had  earlier defected to the Peoples Democratic Party before joining the APC on Tuesday.

He said, “APGA has declared their seats vacant. We have resolved to ensure that they are sacked from the parliament.

“We are not taking it with kids gloves. We have reached an accord to press charges against. These are people who went to the House of Assembly on the platform of our party. We sponsored their election to become lawmakers. now they have abandoned the party that made what they are today.”

The chairman of the Action Alliance in the state, Anthony Ahaneku, said the party was meeting to take a decision on what action to take against  its lawmakers who  defected to the APC.

He said, “We have convened an emergency meeting and we  will take a decision after that.”

Efforts made to reach the PDP Publicity Secretary in the state, Damian Opara, were unsuccessful as he did not  to return our correspondent’s  calls on  Thursday and Friday.

Meanwhile, the PDP  on Friday said the Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly had the power  to declare  defectors’ seats vacant.

The lawmakers, who defected  days after  the Supreme Court nullified Emeka Ihedioha’s election as governor of the state and declared APC’s Hope Uzodinma  the rightful winner of last year’s governorship poll in the state.

The defectors are  Authur Egwim ( Ideato North), from AA to the APC; Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), from the PDP to the APC; Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe), from the PDP to the APC; Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre), from  AA to the APC; and Paul Emeziem (Onuimo), from the PDP to the APC.

Others are Ekene Nnodimele (Orsu), from  APGA to the APC; Johnson Duru (Ideato South),  from AA to the APC; Ngozi Obiefule (Isu), from AA to the APC; and Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema), from the PDP to the APC.

The PDP National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan, said, “The Speaker is the one who can declare their seats vacant.

What the party can do is to go to court and ask the court to ask them to vacate their seats or declare their seats vacant.”